Peninsula Clean Energy
Peninsula Clean Energy

文章

2021 年回顾

我们正朝着清洁、健康和高效的全电动生活方式迈进。由于全球气候变化、健康影响和长期经济效益,我们的成员社区正在从化石燃料转向由 100% 清洁能源提供动力的电力。自 2016 年成立以来,我们共同努力减少了 96% 的发电碳排放,同时为客户节省了约 $90M 的发电成本。 下面我们回顾一下过去一年的一些亮点:

目录

我们通往 24/7 可再生能源之路

 2017 年,我们设定了每小时交付 100% 可再生能源以满足需求的目标。 12 月,我们发布了一个 白皮书 阐述我们对 24/7 可再生能源的愿景、我们迄今为止的进展,以及我们计划如何在 2025 年实现这一目标。如果我们能够实现这一目标,我们可以为其他负载服务实体提供一个模型跟进并加速进一步减少电力供应中的温室气体排放。

迫切需要这样做。我们的目标是证明我们可以经济高效地实现这一目标,正如我们自 2016 年成立以来所证明的那样,以更低的成本为消费者提供更清洁的能源。

新的和扩展的能源计划

作为一个以社区为主导的非营利机构,我们将收益投资于减少碳排放的当地计划,同时提供大量储蓄。今年,我们推出或扩展了以下计划:

热泵热水器方案
在这个为期四年的计划的第一年,圣马刁县的房主安装新的热泵热水器后,可以从半岛清洁能源公司获得 $1,000 或更多的回扣。对该计划的兴趣超过了我们今年的目标。

适合所有人的电动自行车
该回扣为圣马刁县符合收入条件的居民提供了购买新电动自行车最高 $800 的优惠。对该计划的兴趣很高,2021 年的所有可用资金在年初就用完了。

二手电动汽车 (EV) 计划
我们扩大了这个计划,现在所有圣马刁县居民,无论收入多少,购买二手电动车都可以获得回扣。大多数居民有资格获得 $1,000 的回扣。符合收入条件的居民最多可获得 $4,000。

家庭升级计划
通过这项新计划,符合收入条件的房主可以免费获得房屋维修和能源效率升级服务。该计划的重点是能源效率和电器。但是,我们也会资助维修以改善居民的健康和安全,例如维修门窗、用地板更换旧地毯、清除石棉等危害等。

半岛计划
该计划从 2020 年开始继续,通过使太阳能 + 蓄电池备用系统更实惠,帮助居民在停电期间维持电力。我们与 Sunrun 合作,为房主提供高达 $1,250 的安装系统。该计划将于 3 月 31 日结束ST, 2022.

全电领导奖

在我们共同努力实现建筑脱碳的过程中,这些奖项为获奖者提供了表彰和现金奖励,以表彰他们对 100% 能源负载电气化的翻新或新建建筑的最佳范例。获奖者也出现在我们的 全电项目展示 庆祝清洁、可持续建筑的杰出范例。

社区外展补助金

今年,我们与圣马刁县 10 个社区机构合作,增加了有关节省账单和清洁能源计划的其他好处的宣传。

我们授予了 $316,440 以支持与居民就电动汽车进行沟通,并帮助符合收入条件的客户参与折扣和计划。

购电协议

313兆瓦新清洁能源和102兆瓦储能

2021 年,我们签署了购电协议 (PPA),帮助我们实现 24/7 可再生电力目标。我们签署了第一份地热发电合同,以及第一份大规模太阳能+储能合同。这些 PPA 还支持绿色就业和推动经济发展。

间歇泉
这个与 Calpine Corporation 的 PPA 是我们第一个用于地热发电的 PPA,来自位于旧金山北部的间歇泉的 35 MW。

查帕拉尔太阳能
我们与 Leeward Renewable Energy 签订的第一份太阳能 + 存储电力采购协议包括来自他们位于克恩县的 Chaparral 太阳能设施的 102 MW 太阳能和 52 MW 锂离子电池存储。

阿里卡太阳能
这份太阳能+存储电力购买协议包括位于河滨县的 100 兆瓦太阳能和 50 兆瓦(200 兆瓦时)锂离子电池存储。该项目由 Clearway Energy Group 开发。

冈萨加岭风电场
该 PPA 将通过对默塞德县 Pacheco Pass 风电场的重新供电提供 76 MW。该项目将取代现有的 162 台涡轮机风电场,用更强大的最先进涡轮机组成的小得多的机队。

学校和教育项目

今天的学生是明天的能源和环境领导者。这就是为什么我们支持促进教育工作者专业发展和增强公立学校和社区学院学生学习体验的计划。我们在 2021 年支持了以下教育计划:

青年气候大使领导计划
59 名高中学生领袖获得了有关紧迫环境问题的背景知识,然后制定并实施了推动圣马刁县内变革的项目。

环境解决方案教师奖学金
74 名教师设计的课程提高了环境素养,并使学生能够确定和实施解决方案。 1,800 多名学生从事清洁能源课程。

可持续和气候适应学校管理员奖学金
圣马刁县 9 个学区的 11 名行政人员获得了支持,以推动整个学校社区的环境转型并做好应对气候变化的准备。

激发大学计划
10 名社区大学生与圣马刁县的 7 个社区合作伙伴完成了带薪能源和可持续发展实习。

我们感谢与圣马刁县教育办公室、圣马刁县社区学院区和其他社区合作伙伴的持续合作。

到达码

协助四个城市实现脱碳达标

今年,我们与科尔马、戴利市、圣卡洛斯和南旧金山合作,帮助他们采用建筑规范,从而打造更安全、更舒适的建筑,增加我们的电动汽车充电基础设施,并减少我们的碳足迹。

作为这种支持的一部分,我们向将可达代码提交给其议会的城市提供了广泛的技术援助以及 $10,000 的奖励。

以下是我们服务区域内所有颁布了可达代码的市政当局:

布里斯班
伯林盖姆
科尔马
戴利城
东帕洛阿尔托
门洛帕克
米尔布雷
帕斯菲卡
红木城
圣马特奥
圣卡洛斯
南旧金山
圣马刁县

详细了解覆盖代码 这里.

Peninsula Clean Energy
Peninsula Clean Energy

Articles

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print

2021 Year in Review

We are moving toward an all-electric lifestyle that is clean, healthy, and efficient. Due to global climate change, health impacts, and long-term economic benefits, our member communities are switching from fossil fuels to electricity powered by 100% clean energy sources. Working together, we have reduced carbon emissions from electricity generation by 96% while saving our customers about $90M in electric generation costs since our formation in 2016. Below we review some of our highlights from this past year:

Table of Contents

Our path to 24/7 renewables

 In 2017, we set a goal to deliver 100% renewable energy to match demand on an hour-by-hour basis. In December, we published a white paper laying out our vision for 24/7 renewable energy, our progress to date, and at a high level, how we are planning to achieve it by 2025. If we can achieve this goal, we can provide a model for other load serving entities to follow and accelerate further reductions of greenhouse gas emissions in the electricity supply.

The need to do this is urgent. We aim to demonstrate that we can achieve this goal cost-effectively, just as we have demonstrated since our inception in 2016, providing consumers with cleaner energy at a lower cost.

New and expanded energy programs

As a not-for-profit, community-led agency, we invest earnings into local programs that reduce carbon emissions while offering significant savings. This year, we introduced or expanded the following programs:

Heat Pump Water Heater Program
In the first year of this four-year program, San Mateo County homeowners could receive a rebate of $1,000 or more from Peninsula Clean Energy when they installed a new heat pump water heater. Interest in the program exceeded our target for the year.

E-Bikes for Everyone
This rebate provided up to $800 off the purchase price of a new electric bicycle for income-qualified residents of San Mateo County. Interest in the program was high and all available funds for 2021 were exhausted early in the year.

Used Electric Vehicle (EV) Program
We expanded this program and now all San Mateo County residents, regardless of income, can get a rebate for purchasing a used EV. Most residents are eligible for a rebate of $1,000. Income-qualifying residents can receive up to $4,000.

Home Upgrade Program
With this new program, income-qualified homeowners can receive home repairs and energy efficiency upgrades at no cost to the participant. The focus of this program is on energy efficiency and electric appliances. However, we also fund repairs to improve the health and safety of residents, such as window and door repair, replacing old carpet with flooring, removing hazards like asbestos, and more.

Power on Peninsula program
This program, continued from 2020, helps residents maintain power during outages by making a solar + storage battery backup system more affordable. We partnered with Sunrun to provide up to $1,250 for homeowners to install a system. This program will end on March 31st, 2022.

The All-Electric Leadership Awards

As we work together to decarbonize buildings, these awards offer recognition and cash prizes to the winners for the best examples of renovated or newly constructed buildings with 100% of energy loads electrified. The award winners are also featured in our All-Electric Project Showcase which celebrates outstanding examples of clean, sustainable buildings.

Community outreach grants

This year we partnered with ten San Mateo County community-based agencies to increase outreach about bill savings and other benefits of clean energy programs.

We awarded $316,440 to support communication to residents about electric vehicles and assistance enrolling income-qualified customers in discounts and programs.

Power purchase agreements

313 MW of new clean energy & 102 MW of storage

In 2021, we signed power purchase agreements (PPAs) that help us reach our 24/7 renewable electricity goal. We signed our first contract for geothermal power, and another first for large-scale solar + storage. These PPAs also support green jobs and fuel economic development.

The Geysers
This PPA with Calpine Corporation, our first for geothermal power, is for 35 MW from The Geysers, located north of San Francisco.

Chaparral Solar
Our first solar + storage power purchase agreement with Leeward Renewable Energy includes 102 MW of solar and 52 MW of lithium-ion battery storage from their Chaparral Solar Facility in Kern County.

Arica Solar
This solar + storage power purchase agreement includes 100 MW of solar and 50 MW (200 MWh) of lithium-ion battery storage located in Riverside County. The project is being developed by Clearway Energy Group.

Gonzaga Ridge Wind Farm
This PPA will provide 76 MW from the repowering of the Pacheco Pass Wind Farm in Merced County. The project will replace the existing 162-turbine wind farm with a much-smaller fleet of far more powerful state-of-the-art turbines.

School & Education Programs

Today’s students are tomorrow’s energy and environmental leaders. That’s why we support programs that promote professional development for educators and enhance learning experiences for students at public schools and community colleges. We supported the following educational programs in 2021:

Youth Climate Ambassadors Leadership Program
59 high school student leaders gained background knowledge on pressing environmental issues and then developed and implemented projects to drive change within San Mateo County.

Environmental Solutionary Teacher Fellowship
74 teachers designed curriculum that advanced environmental literacy and empower students to identify and implement solutions. 1,800+ students engaged in clean energy curriculum.

Sustainable and Climate Resilient Schools Administrator Fellowship
11 administrators across 9 school districts in San Mateo County received support to drive environmental transformation across their school community and become climate-ready.

Energize Colleges Program
10 community college students completed paid energy and sustainability internships with 7 community partners in San Mateo County.

We are grateful for the ongoing collaboration with the San Mateo County Office of Education, the San Mateo County Community College District, and other community partners.

Reach codes

Assisted four cities with decarbonization reach codes

This year we worked with Colma, Daly City, San Carlos, and South San Francisco to help them adopt building codes which will result in safer and more comfortable buildings, increase our electric vehicle charging infrastructure, and reduce our carbon footprint.

As part of this support, we provided extensive technical assistance plus a $10,000 incentive to cities that brought reach codes to their councils.

Here are all the municipalities in our service territory that have enacted reach codes:

Brisbane
Burlingame
Colma
Daly City
East Palo Alto
Menlo Park
Millbrae
Pacifica
Redwood City
San Mateo
San Carlos
South San Francisco
The County of San Mateo

Learn more about reach codes here.