杰夫·阿尔夫斯(Jeff Aalfs)和戴夫·派恩(Dave Pine)

纪念世界地球日50周年之际,我们受到那些领导环保运动的人们的启发,他们致力于使我们呼吸的空气和饮用的水更清洁,更安全。

前半岛会议众议员皮特·麦克洛斯基(Pete McCloskey)等有远见的人发起了两党行动呼吁,以清理我们的环境,导致成立了美国环境保护署(由美国理查德·尼克松总统于1970年12月签署成立),就在地球日就职八个月之后。

同样,我们也为应对COVID-19大流行的挑战而作出的深刻,广泛和创造性的努力启发了我们。从总督Newsom的果断领导到在圣马特奥县各地社区组织的志愿者活动,我们以团结,远见和同情心做出了回应。

同样的集体精神应指导和激励我们正在进行的工作,以减轻威胁我们星球的另一场危机:气候变化。

今天,我们面临一个拐点。在温室气体水平上升以及随之而来的极端天气事件发生频率增加的情况下,地球变暖的危险显而易见。这是五十年前我们的世界地球日先驱者无法想象的危机。

去年9月,圣马特奥县监事会宣布了气候紧急状态,加入了超过1400个国际,国家和地方司法管辖区。这些声明承认政府间气候变化专门委员会的严厉警告,该委员会预测全球温度最早将在2030年(距现在仅10年)上升1.5摄氏度。

对于圣马特奥县来说,全球气温升高可能导致到2100年海平面上升三英尺或更多,加剧极端天气,例如强降雨,暴风雨和高温,还增加了野火的危险,野火已经给整个州造成了破坏。

尽管局势令人发人深省,但由于我们在县内采取了许多重大行动来应对气候变化,因此有乐观的理由。

半岛清洁能源公司(San Peneo County)的电力供应商,已接近实现为所有客户提供100%无温室气体的电力的目标,并且正在迅速向全可再生能源发展。半岛清洁能源于2016年启动时,波托拉谷选择为所有城镇居民采用100%可再生电力。

此外,半岛清洁能源的计划和投资正在鼓励交通运输和建筑电气化,以用清洁电力替代化石燃料。由于回扣,其他计划和投资,我们正在远离车辆,办公室和房屋中的化石燃料。

在我们努力应对气候变化的过程中,导致第一个地球日的环境管理远景与整个半个世纪前的今天一样,仍然具有相关性和吸引力。

我们现在不能放弃。我们必须坚定地将电动汽车踩在金属上,尽我们所能,实现我们的经济低碳并应对气候变化危机,其决心和目标一致,与我们面对当前的COVID-19大流行所展示的一样。

杰夫·阿尔夫斯(Jeff Aalfs)是波托拉谷地的市长。戴夫·派恩(Dave Pine)代表圣马特奥县监事会第1区。两者均在半岛清洁能源委员会任职。

By Jeff Aalfs and Dave Pine

As we mark the 50th anniversary of Earth Day, we are inspired by those who led the environmental movement to make the air we breathe and the water we drink cleaner and safer.

Visionaries such as former Peninsula Congressman Pete McCloskey led a bipartisan call to action to clean up our environment, resulting in the formation of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency – signed into existence by President Richard Nixon in December 1970 – just eight months after the inaugural Earth Day.

We are similarly inspired by the profound, widespread and creative efforts to answer the challenge of the COVID-19 pandemic. From Governor Newsom’s decisive leadership to the volunteer activities organized in neighborhoods throughout San Mateo County, we have responded with solidarity, vision and compassion.

That same collective spirit should guide and motivate our ongoing work to mitigate another crisis threatening our planet: climate change.

Today, we face an inflection point. Amid the rising levels of greenhouse gasses and the accompanying increased frequency of extreme weather events, the dangers of a warming planet are apparent for all to see. This is a crisis that our Earth Day pioneers five decades ago could not have imagined.

Last September, the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors declared a Climate Emergency joining more than 1,400 international, national and local jurisdictions who have done the same. These declarations recognize the dire warnings of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which predicts global temperatures to rise by 1.5 degrees Celsius as early as 2030, just 10 years from now.

For San Mateo County, higher global temperatures could cause sea levels to rise three feet or more by 2100, contribute to increasingly extreme weather such as intense rainfall, storms and heat, and also increase the risk of wildfires which are already wreaking havoc throughout the state.

While the situation is sobering, there are reasons for optimism as we have taken many significant actions to combat climate change right here in our county.

Peninsula Clean Energy, San Mateo County’s electricity provider, has nearly reached its goal of providing 100 percent greenhouse gas-free power for all customers and is moving swiftly toward all-renewable power. Portola Valley chose to adopt 100 percent renewable electricity for all town residents when Peninsula Clean Energy launched in 2016.

Moreover, Peninsula Clean Energy’s programs and investments are encouraging the electrification of transportation and buildings to replace fossil fuels with clean electricity. Thanks to rebates and other programs and investments, we are moving away from fossil fuels in our vehicles, offices and homes.

As we work to combat climate change, the vision of environmental stewardship that led to the first Earth Day remains as relevant and compelling today as it was a full half century earlier.

We can’t let up now. We must keep the electric vehicle pedal firmly to the metal and do all we can to decarbonize our economy and meet the climate change crisis with the same resolve and unanimity of purpose as we are demonstrating in confronting the current COVID-19 pandemic.

Jeff Aalfs is mayor of Portola Valley. Dave Pine represents District 1 on the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors. Both serve on the Board of Peninsula Clean Energy.