阿瑟顿市民中心

地点:  阿瑟顿
建筑类型:  社区、市民中心、警察、行政和图书馆;新建筑
状态:建设中
尺寸:41,979 平方英尺
预计完成时间:2021
能源使用强度: 29(有针对性)
电力/总能源使用: 100%

关于

阿瑟顿镇老化的市政中心的设施在功能上已经过时,并没有反映该镇的环境承诺和社区精神。因此,社区齐心协力重建他们的城镇广场,建设一个全电动、低碳的校园,由健康的材料选择组成,并为未来的光伏集成而设计。以减少水和能源需求为目标,该项目体现了雨水和景观策略的低影响特征,以及健康的室内考虑。

该项目包括拆除现有的行政/警察局大楼和警察车库,翻新历史悠久的市政厅,增加一座新的市政厅大楼,建造一座新的图书馆大楼,并对场地和道路进行改进。此外,该项目还呼吁使用可再生能源、耐旱景观和风暴管理方法,包括生物洼地和透水铺路。

新校区位于火车站附近,占地 5 英亩,支持一栋两层楼、28,575 平方英尺的市政厅大楼,将警察局、镇政府、建筑/规划办公室、邮局和议会厅集中在一个屋檐下。 L 形结构以红瓦屋顶、白色石膏墙和外露的再生木梁为特色,与相邻的历史市政厅(建于 1928 年)建立了连续性。该结构现在正在翻新,作为新的、现代的、单一的- 故事,9,601 平方英尺的图书馆大楼将容纳灵活区域、阅读/教学室和创客空间,其中包括大量藏书。甲板和户外座椅将新旧连接起来。历史市政厅将作为图书馆的多功能空间,并设有阿瑟顿历史协会的办公室,展示该镇丰富历史的文物。该项目嵌入了低碳战略,是对过去和未来的致敬。

采光、自然通风和进入开放空间推动了设计,减少了对人工照明、冷却和加热的需求。屋顶悬垂、柱廊, 厚壁进一步减轻了能量负荷。声学柚木瓷砖、石材柜台、粘土瓷砖、木踏板和生态地毯定义了材料调色板。该建筑由辐射天花板系统提供服务。通风由专门的空气处理器提供。

特殊功能:

  • 热泵热水器
  • 辐射加热或冷却
  • 信封绝缘
  • 隔热玻璃
  • 底纹
  • 采光

项目团队:

建筑师:WRNS Studio
MP 工程师:接口工程
电气工程师:Integral Group
承包商:SJ Amoroso Construction

Atherton Civic Center

Location:  Atherton
Building type:  Community, civic center, police, admin and library; new construction
Status: In construction
Size: 41,979 square feet
Expected completion: 2021
Energy use intensity:  29 (targeted)
Electric / total energy use: 100%

About

The facilities of the aging civic center of the Town of Atherton were functionally obsolete and did not reflect the environmental commitment and communal spirit of the town. As a result, the community came together to rebuild their town square to be welcoming and ecologically-sensitive with an all-electric, low carbon campus comprised of a healthy material selection, and designed for future integration of photovoltaics. With the goal of reduced water and energy demand, the project exemplifies low impact features for stormwater and landscape strategies, as well as healthy indoor considerations.

The project involved demolishing the existing administration/police department buildings and the police garage, renovating the Historic Town Hall, adding a new City Hall building, constructing a new Library building, and making site and roadway improvements. Plus, the project called for renewable energy sources, drought-tolerant landscaping, and a storm management approach complete with bioswales and pervious paving.

Located on 5 acres adjacent to the train station, the new campus supports a two-story, 28,575-sf, City Hall building that brings the police department, town administration, building/planning offices, post office, and council chambers under one roof. Distinguished by a red tiled roof, white plaster walls, and exposed reclaimed wood beams, the L-shaped structure creates continuity with the adjacent Historic Town Hall, erected in 1928. This structure is now being renovated as part of the new, modern, single-story, 9,601-sf Library building which will house flex areas, reading/teaching rooms, and maker spaces, among a vast collection. Decking and al fresco seating bridge the old and new. The Historic Town Hall will serve as the Library’s multipurpose space, and house the Atherton Historical Association’s offices, featuring artifacts from the town’s rich history. Embedded with low carbon strategies, the project is a nod to the past and to the future.

Daylighting, natural ventilation and access to open spaces drove the design, reducing needs for artificial lighting, cooling and heating. Roof overhangs, colonnades, and thick walls further lessen energy loads. Acoustic teak tiles, stone counters, clay tiles, wood treads, and eco-carpet define the material palette. The building is served by a radiant ceiling system. Ventilation is provided by dedicated air handlers.

Special Features:

  • Heat pump water heater
  • Radiant heating or cooling
  • Envelope insulation
  • Insulated glazing
  • Shading
  • Daylighting

Project Team:

Architect: WRNS Studio
MP Engineers: Interface Engineering
Electrical Engineers: Integral Group
Contractor: S.J. Amoroso Construction