Peninsula Clean Energy
Peninsula Clean Energy

Goforth 家庭能源改造

2022年全电领导者
杰出住宅项目

地点: 圣卡洛斯

建筑类型: 单户住宅,装修

状态: 完全的

尺寸: 1550平方英尺

完成日期: 2021 年 12 月

房主: 凯瑟琳和安德烈 Goforth

联系: 气候Kathleen@gmail.com

总览

Kathleen 和 Andre Goforth 将他们 1550 平方英尺、有 80 年历史的圣卡洛斯住宅改造成一个零排放、基本上是自供电的全电动住宅。他们的目标是减少温室气体排放,提高能源效率,降低能源成本,并提高对极端高温和野火烟雾事件的抵御能力。

他们从 2020 年 8 月开始,添加了一个 Powerwall 来存储他们在 2015 年安装的太阳能电池板产生的电力。2021 年初,他们用热泵模型替换了他们的燃气热水器,并开始咨询 BayREN 能源顾问关于整个-家庭电气化。他们用热泵系统替换了燃气炉和泄漏的石棉包裹管道,包括带有 MERV 13 空气过滤的空气处理器、智能恒温器和用于房屋主层的新管道,以及无管道的小型分体式管道,楼上卧室的壁挂式单元;加强绝缘和空气密封;并用电磁炉代替了他们的燃气灶。他们的燃气表于 2021 年 10 月被拆除。

Goforths 还将他们的电气面板升级到 200 安培以提高灵活性,安装了一个 EV 充电器来为他们新的(使用过的)日产聆风供电,并用 LED 替换了他们所有的灯泡。

在完全电气化之前的 12 个月中,Goforth 一家的太阳能电池板和 Powerwall 提供了 37%-100% 的每月电力需求,具体取决于一年中的时间,而他们的大部分热水、空间供暖和烹饪需求由燃气满足燃烧。在完全电气化的前六个月(2021 年 10 月至 2022 年 3 月),他们的用电量大约是一年前同期的两倍,因此他们更频繁地从电网取电,但没有煤气费,他们的平均每月能源成本降低 32%。他们的太阳能电池板和 Powerwall 平均提供了整个冬季家庭总能源需求的 36%,到 4 月增加到 71%。自从几年前他们选择了半岛清洁能源公司的 ECO100 服务以来,他们的家现在完全依靠可再生能源运行,即使是从电网供电。

被动设计策略:

  • 遮光、美化
  • 遮光、内窗遮光
  • 信封绝缘
  • R-38阁楼下拉楼梯罩

特殊功能:

  • 微电网在电网中断期间维持电力
    • 现场可再生能源:屋顶太阳能光伏(3.38 kWp)
    • 现场储能:Tesla Powerwall
  • 热泵热水器
  • 用于空间供暖和制冷的空气源热泵
  • 电磁炉
  • 能源之星电器
  • 2级电动汽车充电器
  • 拆掉的煤气表
  • 将电气面板从 100 安培升级到 200 安培

项目团队:

能源顾问:BayREN Energy Advisor (Jason Green)
暖通空调承包商:替代暖通空调解决方案
电气承包商(用于感应和电动汽车的面板升级和新电路):Adary Electric
热泵热水器承包商:emeraldEco
管道承包商(旧燃气灶的燃气管道):NJ Plumbing

Peninsula Clean Energy
Peninsula Clean Energy

Goforth Home Energy Retrofit

2022 All-Electric Leader
OUTSTANDING RESIDENTIAL PROJECT

Location: San Carlos

Building type: Single family residential, renovation

Status: Completed

Size: 1550 square feet

Completion date: December 2021

Homeowners: Kathleen and Andre Goforth

Contact: ClimateKathleen@gmail.com

Overview

Kathleen and Andre Goforth retrofitted their 1550 sq. ft., 80-year-old San Carlos residence into a zero emission, substantially self-powered, all-electric home. Their goals were to reduce their greenhouse gas footprint, improve energy efficiency, reduce energy costs, and improve resilience to extreme heat and wildfire smoke events.

They began in August 2020 by adding a Powerwall to store power generated by the solar panels they had installed in 2015. In early 2021, they replaced their gas-powered water heater with a heat pump model and began consulting with a BayREN Energy Advisor about whole-home electrification. They replaced their gas furnace and leaky, asbestos-wrapped ducting with a heat pump system, including an air handler with MERV 13 air filtration, smart thermostat, and new ducting for the main floor of their house, and a ductless, mini-split, wall-mounted unit for the upstairs bedroom; beefed up their insulation and air sealing; and replaced their gas stove with an induction cooktop. Their gas meter was removed in October 2021.

The Goforths also upgraded their electrical panel to 200 amps for greater flexibility, installed an EV charger to power their new (used) Nissan Leaf, and replaced all their light bulbs with LEDs.

In the 12 months preceding their full electrification, the Goforths’ solar panels and Powerwall provided 37%-100% of their monthly electricity needs, depending on the time of year, while most of their water heating, space heating, and cooking needs were met by gas combustion. In their first six months of full electrification (October 2021 through March 2022), their electricity usage was approximately double what it had been during the same period a year earlier so they drew from the grid more often, but with no gas bill, their average monthly energy cost was 32% lower. Their solar panels and Powerwall provided, on average, 36% of their home’s total energy needs through the winter, increasing to 71% by April. Since they opted into Peninsula Clean Energy’s ECO100 service a few years ago, their home now runs entirely on renewable energy even when drawing from the grid.

Passive Design Strategies:

  • Shading, landscaping
  • Shading, interior window shading
  • Envelope insulation
  • R-38 attic pull-down stairs cover

Special Features:

  • Microgrid maintains power during grid outage
    • Onsite renewable energy: rooftop solar PV (3.38 kWp)
    • Onsite energy storage: Tesla Powerwall
  • Heat pump water heater
  • Air source heat pump for space heating and cooling
  • Induction cooktop
  • Energy Star appliances
  • Level 2 EV charger
  • Removed gas meter
  • Upgraded electrical panel from 100 to 200 amps

Project Team:

Energy Consultant: BayREN Energy Advisor (Jason Green)
HVAC Contractor: Alternative HVAC Solutions
Electric Contractor (panel upgrade & new circuits for induction & EV): Adary Electric
Heat Pump Water Heater Contractor: emeraldEco
Plumbing Contractor (cap gas line to old gas stove): NJ Plumbing