即时发布
2020年7月30日

湾区社区能源机构达成无排放电力弹性协议

在野火停电的情况下,帮助成千上万的家庭安装负担得起的干净备份

奥克兰,红木城和加利福尼亚桑尼维尔 –三家湾区社区选择能源提供商已与总部位于旧金山的Sunrun达成协议,将为多达6,000户在野火季节期间紧急停电的家庭安装约20兆瓦(MW)的无排放太阳能和电池备用电源。

东湾社区能源公司(EBCE),半岛清洁能源公司和硅谷清洁能源公司(SVCE)已与Sunrun达成协议,通过从2020年到2022年将这些增加的容量滚动在线,以增加可再生能源发电,降低总体高峰需求并提高电网可靠性。 。

这三个机构在阿拉米达,圣马特奥和圣克拉拉县的低收入客户,处境不利的社区和弱势居民的合同中都做出了努力,其中包括去年受到PG&E紧急电源关闭的打击。

“去年秋天的停电不仅仅是由于冰箱中易腐食品的流失给居民带来的不便或经济损失。他们对我们当中依靠电谋生的弱势居民造成了毁灭性的打击。” “通过该计划,EBCE奖励了部署有利于我们区域能源网的储能系统,同时也为家庭提供备用电源的直接好处。”

“去年秋天破坏我们力量和生命的野火使我们有机会找到方法,以更好地保护我们最脆弱的客户,使其在紧急停机期间不会失去基本的物资和舒适感。通过与Sunrun和我们当地的非营利机构合作,我们可以确定哪些客户可以从该计划中受益最大。”半岛清洁能源首席执行官Jan Pepper说。 “这种创新的方法和合作伙伴关系还为我们所有居民建立了更清洁,更可靠的电网的新模式。”

SVCE首席执行官Girish Balachandran表示:“除了向受电源关闭影响最大的社区成员提供所需的弹性外,该计划还有助于从基于化石燃料的集中式电网转变为分布式,分散式和脱碳的电网。”说过。从历史上看,可靠性是由集中式煤气厂提供的。我们正处于关键时刻,它向电池存储系统和本地资源倾斜。”

“ Sunrun的Brightbox可充电太阳能电池系统可以帮助家庭通过停电供电,并在他们最需要的时候更好地管理能源成本,” Sunrun联合创始人兼首席执行官Lynn Jurich说。 “我们很高兴与这些创新的能源供应商合作,开始为建立更清洁,更具弹性和负担得起的能源系统铺平道路。”

除了提供可靠的备用电源外,太阳能家用电池还可以帮助取代对昂贵的传输基础设施的需求,从而为所有能源消费者节省金钱。这项技术还将支持向更加电气化的能源和运输系统的转变,包括增加电动汽车的采用以及减少对以化石燃料为动力的家用电器的依赖。

合同是合同的一部分 去年11月联合招标 去年秋天紧急停电后不久,三家社区选择能源提供商和圣塔克拉拉市政公用事业公司硅谷电力公司(Santa Valley)发行了该产品,影响了湾区成千上万的客户。

通过减少峰值电力需求,这些创新合同将有效地利用本地资源来帮助满足州的“资源充足性”要求,这是指当地机构和公用事业必须签订合同以确保加利福尼亚电力安全可靠运行的发电能力实时网格。从历史上看,通过从远程电厂购买资源充足来满足此要求。这些合同将把资源充足性的购买转移到新的本地太阳能和电池存储系统上,从而直接为本地家庭和企业提供备用电源。

关于东湾社区能源

EBCE是一家非营利性公共机构,为阿拉米达县和11个合并的城市运营“社区选择能源”计划,为全县超过550,000个住宅和商业客户提供服务。 EBCE于2018年6月开始提供服务,是加利福尼亚州运营的19个社区选择聚合(CCA)计划之一。 CCA正在加快其社区以及加利福尼亚州的气候行动目标。 EBCE致力于以有竞争力的价格提供清洁能源,同时在我们的当地社区进行再投资。有关东湾社区能源的更多信息,请访问 https://ebce.org/.

媒体联络
丹·利伯曼
dlieberman@ebce.org
925-579-1591

关于半岛清洁能源

半岛清洁能源于2016年10月成立,是加利福尼亚州第五个社区选择集合机构,并且是整个圣马特奥县的官方地方电力提供商。它是加州仅有的三个获得投资级信用评级的CCA之一。与PG&E相比,半岛清洁能源每年可为圣马特奥县客户节省大约$1,800万的费用,同时,半岛清洁能源也在积极争取实现到2021年提供100%无温室气体发电和到2025年提供24/7可再生能源发电的目标。在 peninsulacleanenergy.com。跟着我们 推特Facebook的 (@PenCleanEnergy)等 领英.

媒体联络
达伦·古德
dgoode@peninsulacleanenergy.com
202-550-6619

关于硅谷清洁能源

硅谷清洁能源是一个社区拥有的代理机构,为圣克拉拉县的大多数社区提供服务,代表270,000多个住宅和商业客户获取清洁的无碳电力。作为公共机构,净收入将返还给社区,以保持费率具有竞争力并促进清洁能源计划。成员管辖区包括坎贝尔,库比蒂诺,吉尔罗伊,洛斯阿尔托斯,洛斯阿尔托斯山,洛斯加托斯,米尔皮塔斯,蒙特塞雷诺,摩根希尔,山景城,萨拉托加,森尼韦尔和非法人的圣克拉拉县。 SVCE由董事会指导,董事会由来自每个成员社区的理事机构的代表组成。欲了解更多信息,请访问 SVCleanEnergy.org.

媒体联络
帕梅拉·伦纳德(Pamela Leonard)
pamela.leonard@svcleanenergy.org
530-306-0122

关于顺润

Sunrun Inc.(Nasdaq:RUN)是美国领先的家用太阳能,电池存储和能源服务公司。 Sunrun成立于2007年,率先提出了家庭太阳能服务计划,该计划旨在使每个人都能够以很少或几乎没有前期成本的方式使用本地清洁能源。 Sunrun的创新家用电池解决方案Brightbox为家庭带来了负担得起的,有弹性的和可靠的能源。该公司还可以管理和共享电池中存储的太阳能,从而为家庭,公用事业和电网提供收益,同时减少我们对污染能源的依赖。欲了解更多信息,请访问 www.sunrun.com.

媒体联络
安德鲁·纽伯尔德
press@sunrun.com
816-516-5809

下载(pdf)

July 30, 2020

Bay Area Community Energy Agencies Reach Emission-Free Power Resiliency Agreements

Helps thousands of households install affordable, clean backup amid wildfire power shutoffs

Oakland, Redwood City and Sunnyvale, CA – Three Bay Area Community Choice Energy providers have reached agreement with San Francisco-based Sunrun to install up to roughly 20 megawatts (MW) of emission-free solar and battery backup power to 6,000 households vulnerable to emergency power shutoffs during wildfire season.

East Bay Community Energy (EBCE), Peninsula Clean Energy and Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE) have agreed with Sunrun to increase renewable power, reduce overall peak demand and improve grid reliability by putting this increased capacity online on a rolling basis from 2020 through 2022.

All three agencies have carve outs in their contracts for low-income customers, disadvantaged communities and vulnerable residents in Alameda, San Mateo and Santa Clara counties, including those hit by last year’s PG&E emergency power shutoffs.

“Last fall’s power shut-offs were not just an inconvenience or financial hit to residents due to losing perishable groceries in the fridge. They were devastating to vulnerable residents among us who depend on electricity for their well-being,” EBCE CEO Nick Chaset said. “With this program, EBCE is paying an incentive to deploy energy storage systems that benefit our regional energy grid, while also providing the direct benefit of backup power for homes.”

“The wildfires that disrupted our power and lives last fall have given us an opportunity to find ways to better protect our most vulnerable customers from losing essential supplies and comfort during emergency outages. By partnering with Sunrun and our local non-profit agencies, we can identify those customers who can benefit the most from this program,” Peninsula Clean Energy CEO Jan Pepper said. “This innovative approach and partnership also establish a new model for a cleaner and more reliable electricity grid for all our residents.”

“In addition to providing needed resiliency to the members of our community most impacted by power shutoffs, this program is instrumental in shifting away from a centralized, fossil fuel-based grid to one that is distributed, decentralized and decarbonized,” SVCE CEO Girish Balachandran said. “Historically, reliability is provided by centralized gas plants. We are at a pivotal moment where it has tipped toward battery storage systems and local resources.”

“Sunrun’s Brightbox rechargeable solar battery system can help families power through blackouts and better manage energy costs when they need it most,” said Lynn Jurich, Sunrun co-founder and CEO. “We’re excited to partner with these innovative energy providers to begin paving the way towards a cleaner, more resilient and affordable energy system.”

In addition to providing reliable backup power, solar-powered home batteries can save all energy consumers money by helping to displace the need for costly transmission infrastructure. This technology will also support the move to a more electrified energy and transportation system, including the increased adoption of electric vehicles and less reliance on fossil fuel-powered home appliances.

The contracts are part of a joint solicitation last November from the three Community Choice Energy providers and Santa Clara municipal utility Silicon Valley Power that was issued shortly after emergency power shutoffs last fall affected hundreds of thousands of customers in the Bay Area.

By reducing peak power demand, these innovative contracts will effectively enable the use of local resources to help fulfill state “Resource Adequacy” requirements, which refer to energy generating capacity that local agencies and utilities must contract to ensure the safe and reliable operation of California’s electrical grid in real time. This requirement has historically been filled through purchasing Resource Adequacy from distant power plants. These contracts will shift the purchase of Resource Adequacy to new local solar power and battery storage systems that provide the benefits of backup power directly to local homes and businesses.

About East Bay Community Energy

EBCE is a not-for-profit public agency that operates a Community Choice Energy program for Alameda County and eleven incorporated cities, serving more than 550,000 residential and commercial customers throughout the county. EBCE initiated service in June 2018 and is one of 19 community choice aggregation (CCA) programs operating in California. CCAs are expediting the climate action goals of their communities and those of California. EBCE is committed to providing clean power at competitive rates while reinvesting in our local communities. For more information about East Bay Community Energy, visit https://ebce.org/.

Media Contact
Dan Lieberman
dlieberman@ebce.org
925-579-1591

About Peninsula Clean Energy

Peninsula Clean Energy launched in October 2016 as California’s fifth Community Choice Aggregation agency and is the official local electricity provider for all of San Mateo County. It is one of only three CCAs in California to obtain investment-grade credit ratings. While offering rates that save San Mateo County customers an estimated $18 million annually compared to PG&E, Peninsula Clean Energy is aggressively striving toward the goals of providing 100 percent greenhouse gas-free power by 2021 and 24/7 renewable power by 2025. Find out more at peninsulacleanenergy.com. Follow us on Twitter and Facebook (@PenCleanEnergy) and on LinkedIn.

Media Contact
Darren Goode
dgoode@peninsulacleanenergy.com
202-550-6619

About Silicon Valley Clean Energy

Silicon Valley Clean Energy is a community-owned agency serving the majority of Santa Clara County communities, acquiring clean, carbon-free electricity on behalf of more than 270,000 residential and commercial customers. As a public agency, net revenues are returned to the community to keep rates competitive and promote clean energy programs. Member jurisdictions include Campbell, Cupertino, Gilroy, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Los Gatos, Milpitas, Monte Sereno, Morgan Hill, Mountain View, Saratoga, Sunnyvale and unincorporated Santa Clara County. SVCE is guided by a Board of Directors, which is comprised of a representative from the governing body of each member community. For more information, please visit SVCleanEnergy.org.

Media Contact
Pamela Leonard
pamela.leonard@svcleanenergy.org
530-306-0122

About Sunrun

Sunrun Inc. (Nasdaq: RUN) is the nation’s leading home solar, battery storage, and energy services company. Founded in 2007, Sunrun pioneered home solar service plans to make local clean energy more accessible to everyone for little to no upfront cost. Sunrun’s innovative home battery solution, Brightbox, brings families affordable, resilient, and reliable energy. The company can also manage and share stored solar energy from the batteries to provide benefits to households, utilities, and the electric grid while reducing our reliance on polluting energy sources. For more information, please visit www.sunrun.com.

Media Contact
Andrew Newbold
press@sunrun.com
816-516-5809

Download (pdf)