半岛清洁能源在努力满足当今的能源需求的同时,我们也在培育下一代创新者。为了帮助教育工作者将环境素养带入课堂,半岛清洁能源于2018年向圣马特奥县教育办公室捐赠了$25,000,以启动清洁能源教师奖学金。 Ormondale小学幼儿园老师Silvia Martinez是其中一位幸运的老师。

马丁内斯说:“我认为让学生以他们能理解的方式更了解环境是很重要的,因此希望将来他们能够解决问题。”她实际上是在八年前开始教她的学生关于环境的知识。 。 “它使他们有能力对此做些事情。”

马丁内斯说,通过奖学金计划以及在课程开发方面的全面支持,她能够获得宝贵的专业发展。该支持包括确保课程满足该州的《下一代科学标准》和《环境原理与概念》的要求,同时仍使她能够根据自己的教室中最适合的课程量身定制课程。

她说:“有很多动手活动可以让他们触摸,感受和体验,然后获得他们的知识并以此为基础。”

虽然幼儿园的孩子还不准备了解太阳能电池板和温室气体的科学原理,但马丁内斯教室中的学生通过建造纸制风力涡轮机并尝试使用太阳能K'Nex旋转木马来学习可再生能源。马丁内斯的学生没有建造假日姜饼屋(几周后都没被吃掉,然后被扔掉),而是设计并制作了一个示范清洁能源屋。

“他们了解风能,太阳能和回收利用,但我们还添加了保温材料等其他东西,我们增加了屋顶植物,我们增加了许多窗户和花园,还有雨水桶,以建造这间对地球友好的房屋,”她说。 “目标是让他们能够摆脱困境,并了解他们可以对能源系统进行简单的更改并仍然保护环境。”

这次奖学金不仅是马丁内斯的课程。她已经能够在整个校园中整合地球友好型实践和学习经验。

“我们有大会,我们的学生教别人。她说:“我们为整个学校配备了蠕虫垃圾箱,还有美丽的学校花园,我们使用从那里得到的堆肥。” “我认为我们拥有这一资源真是太好了。这很重要。”

该奖学金是在COVID-19爆发之前举行的。 2020-21年清洁能源教师研究金将作为一次远程机会举行。欲了解更多信息,请访问圣马特奥环境学习合作教师奖学金 网站.

While Peninsula Clean Energy is working diligently to meet today’s energy needs, we’re also nurturing the next generation of innovators. To help educators bring environmental literacy into classrooms, Peninsula Clean Energy gave $25,000 to the San Mateo County Office of Education in 2018 to start a Clean Energy Teacher Fellowship. Ormondale Elementary School kindergarten teacher Silvia Martinez was one of those lucky teachers.

“I thought it was important for the students to be more aware of the environment in ways that they can understand it, so hopefully in the future they can solve problems,” says Martinez, who actually started teaching her students about the environment eight years ago. “It gives them the power to do something about it.”

Martinez says she was able to gain valuable professional development through the fellowship program as well as comprehensive support in developing lessons. That support includes ensuring curriculum meets the state’s Next Generation Science Standards and Environmental Principals and Concepts requirements, while still enabling her to tailor lessons to what works best in her classroom.

“There’s a lot of hands-on activities for them to touch, feel and experience and then get their knowledge and build upon that,” she says.

While kindergartners aren’t ready to understand the science behind solar panels and greenhouse gasses, students in Martinez’s classroom learn about renewable energy by building paper wind turbines and experimenting with a solarpowered K’Nex merry-go-round. And instead of building holiday gingerbread houses — which end up uneaten and thrown away after a few weeks — Martinez’s students design and make a model clean energy house.

“They know about wind power, solar energy and recycling, but we also add other things like insulation and we add in roof top plants, we add in a lot of windows and a garden, rain barrels to make this earth-friendly house,” she says. “The goal is for them to be able to walk away from this with an understanding that they could make simple changes to the energy system and still protect their environment.”

And it isn’t just Martinez’s class that’s benefited from the fellowship. She’s been able to integrate Earth-friendly practices and learning experience across the entire campus.

“We’ve had assemblies where our students teach others. We have worm bins for the entire school, we have beautiful school gardens where we use the compost we get from that,” she says. “I think it’s wonderful we have this resource. It’s so important.”

This Fellowship was held prior to the COVID-19 outbreak. The 2020-21 Clean Energy Teacher Fellowship will be held as a remote opportunity. For more information, visit the San Mateo Environmental Learning Collaborative Teacher Fellowship website.