感恩节在玛丽的家中永远不会感到无聊。每年她都有一个主题,例如“摔倒”或“足球”。玛丽会不遗余力地将这个主题变为现实。这所房子将完全用剪纸,横幅和海报装饰。她甚至会每年指定一种颜色。所有的餐巾,盘子,甚至杯子都会是那种颜色。一家人会从全国各地涌入,享用美味佳肴,观看足球比赛和玩棋盘游戏。玛丽最喜欢与家人度过的时光。玛丽主持感恩节超过25年。

随着房屋开始恶化,主持这些聚会变得越来越困难。厨房开始漏水。下雨时,她不得不在房子周围加水桶。泄漏逐渐恶化。局势变得难以忍受。

那是当一个朋友通过Build it Green和El Concilio推荐她参加我们的试验计划时。该试点计划根据房屋情况进行各种维修。从健康的家庭修复到屋顶维修,这些方法各不相同。这些升级对于使这些房屋有资格进行能源效率升级和/或从其他现有的能源援助计划中免费提供太阳能是必要的。修理可使房屋更加舒适,并改善居民的健康状况。

玛丽在感恩节那天说,她很感激能够因为这个计划而留在家里。我们也很感激。值得庆幸的是,我们能够与像玛丽这样有韧性的人保持联系,并在他们的生活中发挥很小的作用。

要了解有关“绿色建筑”试点计划以及其他试点计划的更多信息,请访问: https://www.peninsulacleanenergy.com/community-pilots/

Thanksgivings were never boring at Mary’s home. Each year she had a theme, like “fall” or “football.” Mary would go to great lengths to bring that theme to life. The house would be entirely decorated with cutouts, banners, and posters. She would go so far as to designate a color each year. All the napkins, plates, even the cups would be in that color. Family would pour in from all over the country to enjoy the scrumptious food, watch the football games, and play board games. More than anything, Mary loved the time she got to spend with her family. Mary hosted Thanksgiving for over 25 years.

It became harder to host these parties as the house started to deteriorate. The kitchen started leaking. She had to add buckets around the house when it rained. The leaks progressively got worse. The situation was becoming unbearable.

That is when a friend referred her to our pilot program with Build it Green and El Concilio. This pilot program delivers a range of repairs depending on the home. They vary from healthy home remediation to roof repairs. These upgrades are necessary for these homes to be eligible for energy efficiency upgrades and/or free solar from other existing energy assistance programs. The repairs can make a home more comfortable, as well as improve the health of the residents.

This Thanksgiving, Mary said she was thankful she could stay in her home because of this program. We are thankful too. Thankful we are able to connect with resilient people like Mary and play a small part in their lives.

To learn more about our pilot program with Build it Green, as well as our other pilot programs, visit: https://www.peninsulacleanenergy.com/community-pilots/