新闻

媒体联系
达伦古德 |电子邮件

分享到 facebook
分享到 twitter
分享到 linkedin
分享到 email
分享到 print
2021 年 9 月 7 日

半岛清洁能源从世界上最大的地热综合体接收电力

2022 年 7 月开始的 35 MW 有助于实现 24/7 可再生能源目标

半岛清洁能源公司将从世界上最大的地热发电厂获得清洁可靠的电力。

McCabe U5-6(照片由 Calpine Corporation 和 Geysers Power Company, LLC 提供。

从 2022 年 7 月开始,半岛清洁能源公司将从间歇泉获得 35 兆瓦 (MW) 的地热能,间歇泉是由 Calpine Corporation 运营的 725 兆瓦综合设施,位于旧金山以北 70 英里处。电力购买协议是半岛清洁能源首次涉及地热。 35 兆瓦的电力足以为圣马刁县的 60,000 个家庭每年供电。

“间歇泉的地热发电是减少温室气体排放和减缓气候变化的另一种可靠工具,”半岛清洁能源首席执行官Jan Pepper说过。 “这有助于我们进一步发展我们的能源组合,以满足对负担得起的 24/7 可再生能源不断增长的需求。”

The Geysers 的 15 座地热发电厂横跨索诺玛县和莱克县,占地 45 平方英里,负责提供加州每年生产的近十分之一的可再生能源。

“Calpine 和 The Geysers 很自豪能够支持半岛清洁能源公司的目标,即为圣马刁县和洛斯巴诺斯市的客户提供清洁、可再生和可靠的能源,” Calpine 的起源副总裁 Gevan Reeves. “来自间歇泉的地热能源每天每小时都可用,支持半岛清洁能源公司努力提供来自 100% 可再生能源的可靠电力组合。它还支持数百名努力工作的员工,他们致力于用可靠的地热能源为加州各地的社区供电。”

The Geysers 的地热发电将使半岛清洁能源公司朝着该组织向客户提供 24/7 全天候可再生能源的最终目标迈出又一步。半岛清洁能源今年首次启动提供 100% 无碳电力其近 300,000 名客户。今年至少有一半的电力来自可再生能源,其余来自大型水电和其他无碳发电。

 

关于半岛清洁能源

半岛清洁能源是一家社区选择聚合机构。它是圣马刁县的官方电力供应商,从 2022 年开始,它是洛斯巴诺斯市的官方电力供应商。该机构成立于 2016 年,其使命是减少该县的温室气体排放,为 295,000 名客户提供服务,每年提供超过 3,500 吉瓦时的电力,100% 无碳且成本低于 PG&E。作为一个以社区为主导的非营利机构,半岛清洁能源对其社区进行了大量投资,以扩大获得可持续和负担得起的能源解决方案的机会。半岛清洁能源有望在 2025 年之前提供 100% 可再生电力。该机构已获得穆迪和惠誉的投资级信用评级。

 

在以下关注我们PenCleanEnergy.com, 推特, Facebook的 和领英.

News

Media contact
Darren Goode | email

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on print
Sept. 7, 2021

Peninsula Clean Energy to Receive Power From World’s Largest Geothermal Complex

35 MW starting in July 2022 helps toward 24/7 renewable power goal

Peninsula Clean Energy will receive clean and reliable electricity generation from the world’s largest complex of geothermal power plants.

McCabe U5-6 (photo courtesy Calpine Corporation & Geysers Power Company, LLC.

Peninsula Clean Energy beginning in July 2022 will receive 35 megawatts (MW) of geothermal power from The Geysers, a 725-MW complex run by Calpine Corporation and located 70 miles north of San Francisco. The power purchase agreement is Peninsula Clean Energy’s first to involve geothermal. The 35 MW are enough to power 60,000 households annually in San Mateo County.

“The geothermal power from The Geysers is another reliable tool to reduce heat-trapping greenhouse gas emissions and slow climate change,” Peninsula Clean Energy CEO Jan Pepper said. “This helps us further evolve our energy mix to meet growing demand for affordable 24/7 renewable power.”

The 15 geothermal power plants at The Geysers stretch across 45 square miles in Sonoma and Lake Counties and are responsible for providing nearly one-tenth of the renewable power produced annually in California.

“Calpine and The Geysers are proud to support Peninsula Clean Energy in its goal of providing clean, renewable and reliable energy to customers across San Mateo County and the city of Los Banos,” said Gevan Reeves, Calpine’s Vice President of Origination. “Geothermal energy from The Geysers is available every hour of every day, supporting Peninsula Clean Energy’s efforts to deliver a reliable power portfolio sourced from 100 percent renewable energy. It also supports hundreds of hardworking employees committed to powering communities across California with reliable geothermal energy.”

The geothermal power from The Geysers will bring Peninsula Clean Energy another step toward the organization’s ultimate goal of providing 24/7 renewable power to its customers. Peninsula Clean Energy this year for the first time began providing 100 percent carbon-free power to all of its nearly 300,000 customers. At least half of that power this year stems from renewable power, with the remainder coming from large hydropower and other carbon-free generation.

 

About Peninsula Clean Energy

Peninsula Clean Energy is a Community Choice Aggregation agency. It is the official electricity provider for San Mateo County and, beginning in 2022, for the City of Los Banos. Founded in 2016 with a mission to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in the county, the agency serves 295,000 customers by providing more than 3,500 gigawatt hours annually of electricity that is 100 percent carbon-free and at lower cost than PG&E. As a community-led, not-for-profit agency, Peninsula Clean Energy makes significant investments in its communities to expand access to sustainable and affordable energy solutions. Peninsula Clean Energy is on track to deliver electricity that is 100 percent renewable by 2025. The agency has earned investment grade credit ratings from Moody’s and Fitch.

 

Follow us at PenCleanEnergy.com, Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn.