即时发布
2020年7月1日

半岛-硅谷合作社因推动建筑法规,电动汽车基础设施电气化而获得认可

共同努力,为无排放新建筑的发展提供支持

加州桑尼维尔和雷德伍德城。 –半岛硅谷触角守则倡议项目 已入围决赛 为智能电力联盟(SEPA)的“电力玩家奖”颁奖,以表彰其在支持城市考虑和采用超出国家要求的新建筑电气化和电动汽车基础设施法规方面的开拓性工作。

该合作项目包括30多个地方辖区和两个社区能源机构-硅谷清洁能源(SVCE)和半岛清洁能源。 SEPA电力玩家奖旨在表彰公共事业,行业合作伙伴和个人对电力未来的创新与合作。

该项目在扩大地方政府建筑法规方面的成功规模得到了认可,该法规增强了新建筑中建筑和交通脱碳的能力。该计划还因在特定建筑规范上的创新及其支持和协调范围而著称。

SVCE董事会主席兼萨拉托加市市长霍华德·米勒(Howard Miller)表示:“我们为能以这种行业领先的方式努力推动具有成本效益的电气化感到自豪。” “如果没有许多反对石化燃料以进行持久变革并保护子孙后代免受气候变化影响的市议会议员的领导,这种努力就不可能实现。”

除了在该州定期更新建筑法规的周期内努力通过到达代码的城镇以外,该合作伙伴还包括县,非营利组织和技术合作伙伴的支持。由于其他机构已经利用该小组开发的合同,信息和资源来以成本效益的方式提供电气化利益,因此,这项努力的成功也已经扩展到了SVCE和半岛清洁能源服务领域之外。

半岛清洁能源委员会主席兼波托拉谷市长镇的杰夫·阿尔夫斯说:“这项工作的关键部分是确保它具有适应性和可扩展性,以供其他城市使用并利用我们所做的工作。” “我们还希望加快现有技术可行的到达范围代码的开发,并减少我们的设备和车辆产生的有害集热排放。”

迄今为止,SVCE和半岛清洁能源服务区中的15个辖区已经采用了到达代码,其中13个对全电代码和禁止新的燃气连接采取了坚定立场。其他机构正在采用代码。该方案仍在进行中,正在通过技术和方案方法在脱碳方面取得重大进展。由于地方修正案经常在全州范围内采用和应用,因此该倡议有可能为大规模脱碳工作提供信息。

###

关于硅谷清洁能源
硅谷清洁能源是一个社区拥有的代理机构,为圣克拉拉县的大多数社区提供服务,代表270,000多个住宅和商业客户获取清洁的无碳电力。作为公共机构,净收入将返还给社区,以保持费率具有竞争力并促进清洁能源计划。成员管辖区包括坎贝尔,库比蒂诺,吉尔罗伊,洛斯阿尔托斯,洛斯阿尔托斯山,洛斯加托斯,米尔皮塔斯,蒙特塞雷诺,摩根希尔,山景城,萨拉托加,森尼韦尔和非法人的圣克拉拉县。 SVCE由董事会指导,董事会由来自每个成员社区的理事机构的代表组成。欲了解更多信息,请访问 SVCleanEnergy.org.

关于半岛清洁能源
半岛清洁能源于2016年10月推出,是加利福尼亚州第五个社区选择集合体(CCA)机构,并且是整个圣马特奥县的官方地方电力提供商。它是加州仅有的两个获得投资级信用评级的CCA之一。与PG&E相比,半岛清洁能源每年可为圣马特奥县客户节省大约$1,800万的费用,同时,半岛清洁能源也在积极争取实现到2021年提供100%无温室气体发电和到2025年提供24/7可再生能源发电的目标。在 peninsulacleanenergy.com.

媒体联络人

帕梅拉·伦纳德(Pamela Leonard)
硅谷清洁能源
530-306-0122
pamela.leonard@svcleanenergy.org
达伦·古德
半岛清洁能源
202-550-6619
dgoode@peninsulacleanenergy.com
下载新闻稿

For Immediate Release
July 1, 2020

Peninsula-Silicon Valley Collaboration Recognized for Advancing Electrification in Building Codes, EV Infrastructure

Joint effort supports growing movement for emissions-free new construction

Sunnyvale and Redwood City, Calif. – The Peninsula-Silicon Valley Reach Code Initiative Project has been named as a finalist for the Smart Electric Power Alliance’s (SEPA) Power Players Awards, for trailblazing work in supporting cities’ consideration and adoption of new building electrification and electric vehicle infrastructure codes that exceed those required by the state.

The collaborative project includes more than 30 local jurisdictions and two community energy agencies – Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE) and Peninsula Clean Energy. The SEPA Power Players Awards celebrate innovation and collaboration by utilities, industry partners and individuals shaping the future of electricity.

The project has been recognized for its scale of success in expanding local government building code enhancements that advance building and transportation decarbonization in new construction. The initiative is also distinguished by innovation in specific building codes along with its scope of support and coordination.

“We are proud to be part of such an industry-leading effort to advance cost-effective electrification,” said Howard Miller, SVCE Board Chair and City of Saratoga Mayor. “This effort would not have been possible without the leadership of many city councilmembers who took a stand against fossil fuels to make lasting change and protect future generations from climate change.”

In addition to the towns and cities that worked to pass reach codes within the cycle of the state’s regular building code updates, the partnership also included support from county, non-profit, and technical partners. The success of the effort has also spread outside of the SVCE and Peninsula Clean Energy service areas as other agencies have made use of the contracts, information, and resources the group developed to deliver electrification benefits cost-effectively.

“A key component of the work was ensuring it was adaptable and scalable for other cities to use and take advantage of what we’ve done,” said Jeff Aalfs, Peninsula Clean Energy Board Chair and Town of Portola Valley Mayor. “We also wanted to quicken the development of reach codes that are feasible with existing technology and reduce harmful heat-trapping emissions from our appliances and vehicles.”

To date, 15 jurisdictions in the SVCE and Peninsula Clean Energy service areas have adopted reach codes, with 13 of those taking a strong stance for all-electric codes and prohibitions on new gas hookups. Additional agencies are in progress towards code adoptions. The program, still ongoing, is delivering major advances in decarbonization through technical and programmatic approaches. As local amendments are often adopted and applied statewide, this initiative has the potential to inform major decarbonization efforts on a much larger scale.

###

About Silicon Valley Clean Energy
Silicon Valley Clean Energy is a community-owned agency serving the majority of Santa Clara County communities, acquiring clean, carbon-free electricity on behalf of more than 270,000 residential and commercial customers. As a public agency, net revenues are returned to the community to keep rates competitive and promote clean energy programs. Member jurisdictions include Campbell, Cupertino, Gilroy, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Los Gatos, Milpitas, Monte Sereno, Morgan Hill, Mountain View, Saratoga, Sunnyvale and unincorporated Santa Clara County. SVCE is guided by a Board of Directors, which is comprised of a representative from the governing body of each member community. For more information, please visit SVCleanEnergy.org.

About Peninsula Clean Energy
Peninsula Clean Energy launched in October 2016 as California’s fifth Community Choice Aggregation (CCA) agency and is the official local electricity provider for all of San Mateo County. It is one of only two CCAs in California to obtain an investment-grade credit rating. While offering rates that save San Mateo County customers an estimated $18 million annually compared to PG&E, Peninsula Clean Energy is aggressively striving toward the goals of providing 100 percent greenhouse gas-free power by 2021 and 24/7 renewable power by 2025. Find out more at peninsulacleanenergy.com.

Media Contacts

Pamela Leonard
Silicon Valley Clean Energy
530-306-0122
pamela.leonard@svcleanenergy.org
Darren Goode
Peninsula Clean Energy
202-550-6619
dgoode@peninsulacleanenergy.com
Download Press Release