什么是我们社区排放的最大温室气体?

注意:自从收集了这些数据以来,半岛清洁能源公司生产的清洁能源发电显着降低了用电的相对温室气体贡献。 *http://www.vitalsigns.mtc.ca.gov/greenhouse-gas-emissions

如果图中显示的故障不是您所期望的,那么您并不孤单。当发现哪些来源是最大的碳排放者时,许多人会感到惊讶。

了解此信息很重要。它可以帮助我们作为一个社区共同努力,采取最有效的行动来减少排放和应对全球气候变化。但是对于温室气体(GHG)的来源存在误解。

特别是,许多人低估了交通运输的影响,而交通运输是我们县排放的主要部分,约占55%。按人均计算,这相当于每人每年约3.4公吨二氧化碳(CO2)。*通过用由清洁能源驱动的电动汽车(EV)替代内燃汽车,我们正在帮助解决主要问题我们县碳排放的原因。为了实现这一目标,我们制定了包括教育,轻松体验和测试电动汽车的无义务机会,购买电动汽车的激励措施在内的计划,并且不久将有支持电动汽车充电站安装的计划和激励措施。

其他温室气体排放源包括住宅,在本研究进行时,这些住宅占圣马特奥县碳排放量的22%,或每人每年约1.3公吨的二氧化碳。其中,大约三分之二是由燃气用具引起的,包括空间供暖,热水,烹饪和洗衣。在非住宅中使用的能源占排放的其余22%。*

该数据是在Peninsula Clean Energy推出之前于2015年编制的。从那时起,我们的清洁能源极大地减少了与住宅和商业用电相关的温室气体排放量。

我们现在也正在努力减少建筑物中使用天然气引起的温室气体。对于新建筑,一些城市已经采用了Reach法规,而其他城市正在考虑采用Reach法规,这些法规的碳排放标准比国家要求的更为严格,并且支持可以由清洁能源驱动的高效全电设计。同时,对于现有建筑物,我们正在制定计划以支持和鼓励改造行动,其中可能包括用用于空间和水加热的电热泵替换燃气具,以及用于烹饪的电感应炉。减少或消除天然气的使用将使这些建筑物更清洁,并减少温室气体的排放。

我们将在开发程序时继续向您更新有关程序的信息,并且可以在我们的网站上找到有关程序的更多信息。 电动汽车, 建筑范围代码, 和别的 试点计划.

What is emitting the most greenhouse gas in our community?

Note: Since this data was compiled, cleaner power generation by Peninsula Clean Energy has significantly reduced the relative GHG contribution of the uses of electricity. *http://www.vitalsigns.mtc.ca.gov/greenhouse-gas-emissions

If the breakdown shown in the figure was not what you expected, you are not alone. Many people are surprised when they find out which sources are the largest carbon emitters.

Understanding this information is important. It can help us work together as a community to take actions that will be most effective toward reducing emissions and fighting global climate change. But there is misunderstanding about the sources of greenhouse gas (GHG).

In particular, many people underestimate the impact of transportation, which is responsible for a major share–about 55%–of the emissions in our county. On a per capita basis, this equates to about 3.4 metric tons of carbon dioxide (CO2) per person annually.* By replacing internal combustion vehicles with electric vehicles (EVs) that are powered by clean energy sources, we are helping to solve the major cause of carbon emissions in our county. To enable this, we developed programs that include education, no-obligation opportunities to easily experience and test drive EVs, incentives to purchase EVs, and will soon have programs and incentives to support installation of EV charging stations.

Other GHG sources include residences which, at the time of this study, were responsible for about 22% of the carbon emissions in San Mateo County, or about 1.3 metric tons of CO2 per person per year. Of this, about two-thirds is caused by gas appliances, including space heating, water heating, cooking and laundry. Uses of energy in non-residential accounts for the remaining 22% of emissions.*

This data was compiled in 2015, prior to the launch of Peninsula Clean Energy. Since then, our clean power has greatly reduced the amount of GHG emissions associated with residential and commercial electric uses.

We are now also working to reduce GHG caused by gas use in buildings. For new construction, Reach codes have been adopted in some municipalities, and are under consideration in others, that have more stringent carbon emission standards than those required by the state, and favor efficient all-electric designs that can be powered by clean energy. Meanwhile, for existing buildings, we are developing programs to support and incentive retrofit actions, which could include replacing gas appliances with electric heat pumps for space and water heating, and electric induction for cooking. Reducing or eliminating the use of gas will make those buildings cleaner and will reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

We will continue to update you about our programs as they are developed, and more information can be found on our website about programs for electric vehicles, building reach codes, and other pilot programs.