气候变化的重要因素来自家庭内部。

越来越多的研究证明,热水器的作用远不只是加热淋浴。

家用电器在圣马特奥县的建筑物中占热量排放天然气排放量的66%。其中,使用炉子和热水器是主要来源。

这不包括在天然气的钻探,存储和运输过程中,由于天然气的主要成分甲烷泄漏而造成的额外排放。

甲烷排放量-比我们想象的还要严重

甲烷的实际泄漏量(比二氧化碳更有效地捕获热量)可能比天然气供应链中估计的要差得多。

一个 2018年研究 发表在《科学》杂志上的文章发现,美国的石油和天然气运营泄漏的甲烷比美国环境保护局估计的要多60%(即1300万吨)。

研究人员 在斯坦福 同样看了圣马特奥县和圣克拉拉县的热水器,得出的结论是甲烷的排放量可能比预期高三倍。在全国范围内,它的确增加了。美国每年有5800万台使用天然气的热水器每年泄漏约91,000吨甲烷,这相当于一年内将近200万辆使用汽油的汽车。

一个 UCLA最近的研究 进一步概述了燃气热水器,电炉和火炉产生的污染如何尤其会增加呼吸道疾病,心血管疾病和其他健康风险的发生率,包括使我们更容易受到新型病毒(如COVID-19)的攻击。

使我们的房屋和企业通电

遏制这种潮流的一种方法是,转向由无排放可再生能源和其他清洁能源驱动的全电气家庭和企业。

考虑到您的热水器的使用寿命只有大约10年,现在可能是用新的电子型号替换热水器的好时机。

半岛清洁能源董事会通过批准一项新的激励措施,使客户安装新的电热水器成为一项更容易的事情,这是一项更大的$4年,$610万计划的一部分,该计划旨在使现有房屋和企业通电。

从今年秋天开始,这项激励措施将为客户提供$1,000-$1,500之间的价格。这是对旧金山湾区9个县合作的湾区区域能源网(BayREN)为这些新型热水器提供的现有$1,000奖励的补充。圣马特奥县居民可以通过以下方式获得这些奖励和专家建议: BayREN Home + 程序。此外,建筑设计师可以在allelectricdesign.org上获得技术帮助。

因此,下次您的早晨例行冰水意外涌入时,请考虑一下您的下一个热水器如何使我们远离天然气,并使我们的房屋,办公室和社区更加可持续。

A big contributor to climate change comes from right inside your home.

A growing body of research is proving that water heaters are doing far more than just warming your showers.

Residential appliances contribute 66 percent of heat-trapping natural gas emissions from buildings in San Mateo County. Of that, the use of furnaces and water heaters are the leading sources.

This doesn’t account for the additional emissions caused by the leaking of methane, the main ingredient of natural gas, during the drilling, storing and transporting of the natural gas to homes to power these appliances.

Methane Emissions – Even Worse Than We Thought

The actual amount of leaked methane, which is more than 80 times as effective at trapping heat than carbon dioxide, is likely far worse than estimated during the natural gas supply chain.

A 2018 study published in the journal Science found that U.S. oil and gas operations are leaking 60 percent – or 13 million tons – more methane than the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency had been estimating.

Researchers at Stanford similarly looked at water heaters in San Mateo and Santa Clara counties to conclude that resulting methane emissions may be three times higher than expected. Nationwide, it really adds up. The 58 million U.S. water heaters that use natural gas leak around 91,000 tons of methane every year and over time that can mean the equivalent of nearly 2 million cars driving on gasoline for a year.

A recent UCLA study further outlined how pollution stemming from gas-powered water heaters, furnaces and stoves in particular can increase rates of respiratory illness, cardiovascular diseases and other health risks, including making us more vulnerable to novel viruses like COVID-19.

Electrifying Our Homes and Businesses

One way to stem this tide is converting to all-electric homes and businesses powered increasingly by emission-free renewable and other clean power.

And given that your water heater has a lifespan of only about 10 years, now may be a great time to replace it with a new electric model.

Peninsula Clean Energy’s Board of Directors just made it a little easier to do so by approving a new incentive to our customers to install new electric water heaters as part of a bigger $4-year, $6.1 million plan to electrify existing homes and businesses.

This incentive will provide customers between $1,000-$1,500 starting later this fall. This would be in addition to an existing $1,000 incentive for these new water heaters offered by the Bay Area Regional Energy Network (BayREN), a collaboration of the nine San Francisco Bay Area counties. San Mateo County residents can get these incentives and expert advice through the BayREN Home+ program. In addition, building designers can get technical assistance at allelectricdesign.org.

So the next time an unexpected rush of icy water intrudes on your morning routine, think about how your next water heater can take us a step away from natural gas and towards making our homes, offices and communities more sustainable.