气候变化

气候变化:我们可以采取哪些行动?

气候变化的影响已经开始,并将随着时间的推移而加剧。这就是为什么社区,组织和政府必须适应气候变化的影响以及减少温室气体排放。适应包括提高基础设施的适应能力以及为极端天气事件准备脆弱社区。

气候变化现在是不可避免的,但我们仍然可以影响它的极端程度。缓解进一步气候变化的一种方法是完全绿色我们的能源部门。在加利福尼亚州,社区选择能源计划提供更环保的能源。半岛清洁能源是一项社区选择能源计划,以较低的成本为其客户提供更清洁的能源。半岛清洁能源公司到 2017 年将圣马刁县的电力排放量减少了一半,到 2021 年 1 月已过渡到 100% 无碳能源。我们继续在实现到 2025 年使用 100% 可再生能源的目标上取得进展。

同时,最好的选择是完全使用更少的能源。这意味着改变行为,例如离开房间时关灯和提高建筑物的效率。例如,与传统白炽灯泡相比,节能 LED 灯泡的能耗仅为其 1/6。

参观圣马刁县能源观察网站更多细节。

仔细考虑您的运输需求以及您如何满足这些需求。

通过减少您乘坐的航班数量或您在汽油动力汽车中驾驶的驾驶量,您可以产生巨大的积极影响。具体而言,考虑拼车,乘坐公共交通工具,以及更多步行和骑自行车前往目的地。如果你需要一辆汽车,可以考虑一辆电动汽车,与汽油动力汽车相比,它可以大大减少温室气体排放。

总而言之,您可能有更多的力量对气候变化产生积极影响,而不是您意识到的。上述步骤是我们可以采取的一些最具影响力的行动,以减少二氧化碳排放并减缓变暖。要了解有关保护我们在湾区的宝贵社区的其他行动的更多信息,请查看圣马刁县可持续发展办公室网站.

一定要看看加州大学的气候实验室.

Climate change

Climate change: what actions can we take?

The impacts of climate change are already underway, and will intensify over time. That is why it is important for communities, organizations, and governments to adapt to the impacts of climate change as well as cut greenhouse gas emissions. Adaptation includes increasing the resilience of infrastructure as well as preparing vulnerable communities for extreme weather events.

Climate change is now inevitable, but we can still impact how extreme it will be. One way to mitigate further climate change is to completely green our energy sector. In California, community choice energy programs provide greener energy. Peninsula Clean Energy, a community choice energy program, provides its customers with cleaner energy at a lower cost. Peninsula Clean Energy reduced emissions from electricity in San Mateo County in half by 2017 and by January 2021 have transitioned  to 100% carbon-free energy. We continue to make progress on our goal to also use energy that is 100% renewable by 2025.

Meanwhile, the very best option is to use less energy altogether. That means changing behaviors such as turning off lights when leaving a room and improving the efficiency of our buildings. For example, energy efficient LED bulbs can consume only 1/6 the amount of energy when compared to a traditional incandescent light bulb.

Visit the San Mateo County Energy Watch website for more details.

Think carefully about your transportation needs and how you meet them.

You could have a big positive impact by reducing the number of flights you take, or the amount of driving you do by yourself in a gas-powered car. Specifically, consider carpooling, taking public transportation, and doing more walking and biking to your destinations. If you need a car, consider an electric car, which greatly reduces greenhouse gas emissions compared to a gas-powered car.

All in all, you may have more power to make a positive impact on climate change than you realize. The above steps are some of the most high-impact actions we can take to reduce carbon dioxide emissions and slow down the warming. To learn more about other actions you can take to protect our precious communities in the Bay Area, check out  San Mateo County’s Office of Sustainability’s website.

Be sure to also check out the University of California’s Climate Lab.