文章

停电Q&A

电力因三个原因之一而熄灭。当能源网由于这些因素中的一个或多个而变得紧张时,停电可能会更频繁地发生并且持续时间更长。

  • 大多数情况下,由 PG&E 建造和运营的为您的房屋或企业供电的电线或设备发生故障。 PG&E 工作人员负责修理设备。
  • 极端高温和大风天会带来严重的野火风险,因此 PG&E 将切断有引发火灾风险的特定线路的电源。如果这些线路通常是为您供电的线路,那么您的电源就会耗尽。
  • 在极少数情况下,产生的电力不足以满足需求。这种情况最常发生在极端高温事件期间,当时对运行空调的需求特别高,而输电线路和燃气发电厂发电和输送电力的能力较差。

在客户提前通知他们的电源可能被关闭的特殊情况下,可以提前采取一些措施以确保舒适并保持关键设备和电器的运行。在炎热的天气里,使用空调的客户可以为他们的家或公司预冷,并保持窗帘关闭。笔记本电脑、手机或电动汽车等使用电池的设备应充满电。短暂停电期间,冰箱和冰柜的门应尽可能保持关闭。

大多数客户无法避免在影响为家庭或企业供电的电线或设备的停电期间断电。但是,房主和租房者可以使用一些备用电源选项。

  • 有许多 便携式电池设备 适合不同的需求。对于需要 USB 连接的设备供电,例如智能手机, 许多产品从 $20-$40 可以为多部手机充电几天,通常需要几个小时到半天才能充满电。提前为其中一个充电,您应该能够度过大部分停电。
  • 为了 为笔记本电脑供电, 需要稍大的电池。这个 纽约时报评论 提供有关帮助笔记本电脑充电的最佳电池的信息。
  • 大多数其他电器需要连接到 110V 插座。对于这些类型的电器,更多 坚固的便携式电池 是必须的。备用电源需求将有很大差异,具体取决于在整个停电事件中保持供电的设备或电器的类型。 这是一个很好的清单 的潜在选择,大小和价格不等。
    • 如果你有一个 电动车,您还可以使用汽车电池为您的某些设备供电。一些新型号可能能够直接通过您的车载充电器电缆为您的房屋供电。其他型号仍可支持可用于为少量设备供电的逆变器(通常高达 15 安培)。其他逆变器可以连接到 12V 电池(汽油车也有),尽管许多制造商不鼓励这样做并且可能会使保修失效,因此请咨询您的制造商。
    • 房主:如果您有太阳能,或者想要获得太阳能,您还应该评估在您的太阳能系统中添加电池的机会。 太阳能对电池 可以在停电期间让您的房屋长时间供电。提前计划,因为由于当前的供应链问题,新电池的安装可能需要数月时间。
    • 对于使用 CPAP(持续气道正压通气)设备治疗睡眠呼吸暂停的用户:一些 CPAP 制造商提供 专门针对其 CPAP 型号的电池备份解决方案.请咨询制造商。

不会。成为 Peninsula Clean Energy 客户不会影响您停电的可能性。停电的发生大多是因为某处的设备坏了,或者因为必须切断电线以避免野火。 Peninsula Clean Energy 不管理物理线路(这是 PG&E 的工作)。对于非常罕见的能源短缺,由加州独立系统运营商 (CAISO) 管理。 CAISO 下令停电发生在最有助于保持全州电网整体平衡的位置,而不是专门专注于解决更局部的停电。

如果您有屋顶太阳能但没有连接电池,那么您的太阳能系统很可能设计为一旦断电就会关闭。此功能的存在是为了确保当线路工作人员试图为电网重新供电时,没有能量流回电网而危及他们。如果您的屋顶太阳能系统没有备用电池,您可以联系为您安装系统的公司,评估是否也可以添加电池存储。这些安装通常花费 $15,000-$20,000+。

客户可以注册 这里 接收来自 PG&E 的停电警报,并可以查看 PG&E 停电地图 这里 有关个别中断的详细信息。加州独立系统运营商 (CAISO) 负责管理 Flex Alert 系统,该系统会通知消费者由于极端炎热天气等事件可能导致的电力供应短缺。注册 这里 接收 Flex 警报和节能提示。对于有兴趣更多地了解加州电网的实时运行、需求、供应和可再生能源构成的客户,CAISO 还提供了 ISO Today 手机应用程序,可在 App Store 和 Google Play 上找到。

估计何时恢复供电的最佳方法是在地图上输入您的家庭或公司地址 PG&E 停电中心.你也可以注册 这里 接收来自 PG&E 的停电警报。

当前的电网挑战和相关的安全关闭通常是由更频繁和更严重的野火和极端天气事件驱动的,这些事件是气候变化加速的结果。现在投资清洁能源转型将随着时间的推移减少这些影响。由于半岛清洁能源客户获得 100% 无排放电力,转向电动交通和家用电器意味着客户不再燃烧化石燃料。这有助于减轻气候变化的影响,并降低可能导致停电的野火和极端天气事件的发生频率和严重程度。

此外,清洁能源技术正在迅速发展,以支持逐步淘汰天然气的使用,并在停电期间保持您的家庭或企业正常运转。示例包括家用电器和汽车的备用电池存储。请参阅上面对问题 2 的答复中的一些建议。

Peninsula Clean Energy

Articles

Q&A about power outages

Electric power goes out for one of three reasons. When the energy grid becomes strained due to one or more of these factors, outages can occur more frequently and be of longer duration.

  • Most often the wires or equipment built and operated by PG&E that bring power to your house or business have broken. PG&E crews are responsible for fixing the equipment.
  • Extreme heat and windy days pose severe risks of wildfires, so PG&E will shut off power to particular lines that are at risk of causing fires. If those lines are the ones that normally deliver power to you, your power will go out.
  • On very rare occasions, there is not enough power generated to meet demand. This happens most often during extreme heat events when there is particularly high demand to run air conditioners, and transmission lines and gas power plants are less able to generate and deliver power.

In unusual cases where customers have advance notice that their power may be turned off, some steps can be taken ahead of time to ensure comfort and to keep critical devices and appliances functioning. In hot weather, customers with air conditioning can precool their homes or businesses and keep window coverings closed. Devices that run on batteries, such as laptops, mobile phones or electric vehicles, should be fully charged. During brief power outages, refrigerator and freezer doors should be kept closed as much as possible.

Most customers cannot avoid losing power during a power outage that affects the wires or equipment bringing power to their homes or businesses. However, there are some backup power options available to homeowners and renters.

  • There are many portable battery devices that fit different needs. For powering devices that require a USB connection, such as smart phones, many products ranging from $20-$40 can charge multiple phones for several days, and typically take a few hours to half a day to charge up. Charge one of these in advance and you should be able to get through most power outages.
  • For powering laptops, slightly larger batteries are required. This NY Times review provides information about the best batteries to help keep laptops charged.
  • Most other electric appliances require a connection to a 110V outlet. For these types of appliances, a more robust portable battery is required. Backup power needs will vary widely depending on the type of equipment or appliances to remain powered throughout the power outage event. Here is a good list of potential options, ranging in size and price.
    • If you have an electric vehicle, you may also be able to power some of your devices from your car battery. Some new models may be able to power your house directly through your car charger cable. Other models can still support an inverter that can be used to power a small number of devices (typically up to 15 Amps). Other inverters can be attached to the 12V battery (the one gas cars also have), although many manufacturers discourage this and may void warranties, so check with your manufacturer.
    • Homeowners: If you have solar, or want to get solar, you should also evaluate the opportunity to add a battery to your solar system. Solar-paired batteries can keep your home powered for an extended period of time during power outages. Plan ahead because new battery installations can take months due to current supply chain issues.
    • For users of CPAP (continuous positive airway pressure) devices for sleep apnea treatment: Some CPAP manufacturers offer battery backup solutions specifically for their CPAP models. Check with the manufacturer.

No. Being a Peninsula Clean Energy customer doesn’t affect your likelihood of losing power. Power outages mostly happen because equipment somewhere breaks or because electrical lines must be shut off to avoid wildfire. Peninsula Clean Energy does not manage the physical wires (that’s PG&E’s job). For the very rare energy shortages, those are managed by the California Independent System Operator, or CAISO. Power outages ordered by CAISO happen in locations that are most useful in keeping the statewide grid as a whole in balance, rather than exclusively focused on solving a more localized outage.

If you have rooftop solar but no attached battery, chances are your solar system is designed to turn off once you lose power. This functionality exists to make sure that when line workers are trying to repower the grid, there is no energy flowing back onto the grid that would endanger them. If you do not have a backup battery as part of your rooftop solar system, you can reach out to the company who installed your system to evaluate the opportunity to add battery storage as well. These installations typically cost $15,000-$20,000+.

Customers can sign up here to receive outage alerts from PG&E and can check the PG&E outage maps here for detailed information about individual outages. The California Independent System Operator (CAISO) manages the Flex Alert system that notifies consumers of possible power supply scarcities due to events like extremely hot weather. Sign up here to receive Flex Alerts and tips for energy conservation. For customers interested in understanding more about the real time operation, demand, supply and renewables composition of the California electricity grid, CAISO also provides the ISO Today phone app available in the App Store and on Google Play.

The best way to get an estimate of when your power will be restored is to type in your home or business address on the map at the PG&E Outage Center. You can also sign up here to receive outage alerts from PG&E.

Current electrical grid challenges and related safety shutoffs are most often driven by more frequent and severe wildfires and extreme weather events that are a consequence of accelerating climate change. Investing now in the clean energy transition will reduce these impacts over time. Since Peninsula Clean Energy customers receive 100% emission-free power, switching to electric transportation and home appliances means customers are not burning fossil fuels. This can help mitigate climate change impacts and decrease the frequency and severity of the wildfires and extreme weather events that can result in power outages.

In addition, clean energy technology is advancing rapidly to support a phase out of gas usage and to keep your home or business functioning during an outage. Examples include back-up battery storage for your home appliances and cars. See some suggestions in the response to question 2 above.