圣马特奥县教育办公室宣布了25名杰出的学校领导,他们得到了 一星球学校挑战 因其在2019-20学年的创新可持续发展努力而获得该奖项。圣马特奥县“一行星学校”挑战赛的目的是确定在校园,课程或更广泛的社区中正在领导有意义的变革的学生,教师,管理人员和社区成员,并表彰他们对创造可持续未来的影响。

这些项目包括在校园范围内开展的活动,旨在提高人们对环境问题的认识,动手研究环境主题的学习单元以及环境电影节。

半岛清洁能源已连续第二年为领导者提供$500财务奖励,以扩大他们的下一阶段项目。今年的五位获奖者是:

伯灵格姆中学与伯灵格姆公民环境委员会合作
伯灵格姆中学高年级学生Jeffrey Chen与伯灵格姆公民环境委员会(CEC)合作举办了第三届年度CEC学生电影节。今年,音乐节扩大了范围,以允许全县的四年级至十二年级学生提交他们的环保影片。

福斯特市小学
福斯特市小学的一个教育工作者和学生团队成功实施了一项校园范围的废物转移计划,该计划已整合到他们学校的课程中。由于该计划的成功,圣马特奥县可持续发展办公室将福斯特城小学评为“绿色之星学校”。

圣卡洛斯学区
圣卡洛斯学区的学生参加了全区范围的每周在线可持续发展课程。学生们在家里的日常生活中了解了生物多样性,废物,水和其他主题。

萨米特公立学校(Shasta及以后)
多个《峰会宪章》机构的十年级物理班学习了风力涡轮机作为清洁能源的知识。该单元的最终结果是,学生们对自己的微型涡轮机进行研究,并倡导增加使用风能,以实现清洁能源的未来。

威斯摩高中
在Westmoor高中生物学老师Jessica Tiatia向学生们介绍了生物多样性的重要性之后,他们和环境行动俱乐部采取了行动,在校园内种植了近100种本地植物。

The San Mateo County Office of Education announced 25 stand-out school leaders who received a One Planet Schools Challenge award for their innovative sustainability efforts during the 2019-20 school year. The purpose of the San Mateo County One Planet Schools Challenge is to identify students, teachers, administrators, and community members who are leading meaningful change in the Campus, Curriculum, or greater community, and to recognize them for their impact towards creating a sustainable future.

Among the projects were campus-wide events that built awareness of environmental issues, hands-on units of study exploring environmental topics, and an environmental film festival.

For the second year, Peninsula Clean Energy has provided a $500 financial award for leaders to expand the next phase of their projects. This year’s five awardees are:

Burlingame High School in Partnership with Burlingame Citizens Environmental Council
Burlingame High School senior Jeffrey Chen partnered with Burlingame Citizens Environmental Council (CEC) to host the third annual CEC Student Film Festival. This year, the festival was expanded to allow fourth through twelfth-grade students county-wide to submit their environmental films.

Foster City Elementary School
A team of educators and students at Foster City Elementary School successfully implemented a campus-wide waste diversion program that was integrated into their school’s curriculum. Because of the program’s success, the San Mateo County Office of Sustainability recognized Foster City Elementary as a “Green Star School.”

San Carlos School District
San Carlos School District students participated in a district-wide weekly online Sustainability Class. Students learned about biodiversity, waste, water, and other topics in the context of their everyday lives at home.

Summit Public Schools (Shasta and Beyond)
Tenth-grade physics classes across multiple Summit Charter institutions learned about wind turbines as a source of clean energy. The unit culminated with students conducting research on their own mini turbines, as well as advocacy for increased use of wind power for a clean energy future.

Westmoor High School
After Westmoor High School Biology teacher Jessica Tiatia taught her students about the importance of biodiversity, they and the Environmental Action Club took action by planting nearly 100 native plants around the campus.