在艰难的经济时期,精美的电力公用事业费对加利福尼亚人造成了打击

SanJosé市长Sam Liccardo和洛杉矶县主管Sheila Kuehl今天呼吁加利福尼亚公共事业委员会(CPUC)提高加利福尼亚“三大”投资方拥有的公共事业的透明度和责任制,因为这两家公司准备通过以下方式向加利福尼亚的消费者征收高额费用:一个机密而晦暗的过程。

在今天发表在《旧金山纪事报》上的社论中,代表超过300万加利福尼亚人的市长Liccardo和Supervisor Kuehl谴责了太平洋天然气和电力公司,圣地亚哥天然气和电力公司以及南加州爱迪生公司,要求大幅提高“出口费”向使用社区替代集合商等替代能源提供商的消费者征收费用,以解释公用事业公司多年前代表他们签署的昂贵的电力供应合同。

自2013年以来,PG&E服务区域的“退出费用”已上涨了600%以上,这被称为“电力费用无差别调整”,令人震惊的是,定于今年秋天在大流行期间再次上涨。给本已苦苦挣扎的居民带来更大的经济困难。自CPUC在2018年更改其PCIA规则以来,这项费用几乎翻了一番。

“In a moment when millions of Californians already suffer the most severe financial hardships of their lifetimes, the California Public Utilities Commission must reverse its historic capitulation to the financial interests of investor-owned utilities by protecting millions of ratepayers from excessive and anti-competitive exit fees,” 利卡多市长说. “We cannot allow utilities to dismiss this as a mere regulatory complexity, particularly since skyrocketing exit fees have already shifted hundreds of millions of dollars to PG&E from the pockets of overburdened Bay Area residents.”

“我对所谓的“充电无差异调整”的回应无动于衷!公共事业委员会当前的退出手续费程序会加剧费率波动,而我们的洛杉矶和文图拉县清洁能源联盟很可能会再次大幅增长。” 上司说。 “ PUC应该扭转其2018年的决定,将重点放在公共工作组已概述的透明度和降低成本的措施上。加州需要更绿色的能源,并使不透明,复杂的能源价格时代成为过去的遗物。”

如果过去一个月(伴随着热浪,持续的停电,罕见的雷暴以及随后在加利福尼亚州成千上万流离失所的大火)向我们展示了任何东西,那就是气候变化的生存威胁已经临到我们。现在是我们国家全心全意拥抱CCA正在实施的清洁能源未来的时候了。

CCA向其客户提供可靠,清洁的能源,并以投资者未拥有的公用事业负责。 CCA受到由当地民选官员和公众组成的董事会的监督,这些董事会提供透明度和问责制。他们通过谨慎地管理自己的能源组合,通过没有股东来保持较低的运营成本,并在所服务的社区进行大量投资,从而为纳税人获得更好的交易。

Liccardo和Kuehl概述了CPUC可以实施的三种具体解决方案,以拉近退出费的征收方式:

  • 在2018年对CPUC规则进行了反向更改,从而导致客户加息和波动加剧。在此过程中缺乏问责制,降低了三大公用事业公司降低成本或淘汰效率低下和肮脏的发电机的动力,因为公用事业公司可以通过增加“退出费”来转移成本。
  • CPUC和州立法机构围绕费率和费用制定透明度措施。 国会议员Ash Kalra的AB2689 将采取重大步骤,向消费者和当地能源供应商提供更多有关其客户所支付费用的信息。
  • 通过公共工作组的建议,要求公用事业部门优化其能源供应组合。这将减少所有消费者的能源成本,并支持三巨头公用事业公司以市场为基础的激励措施来管理投资组合成本。

“通过批准向客户收取一笔晦涩难懂的“出口费”,州监管机构已将三大公用事业公司的数亿美元成本转移给了当地居民和企业。我们呼吁CPUC对PCIA的计算方式进行真正的改革,因为如果没有PCIA,加利福尼亚人将不会看到费用的减少,” 利卡多市长和库尔主管说。 “作为社区领袖,我们在这个关键时刻或任何时候都不会袖手旁观,让加利福尼亚人得到利用。”

联系

Rachel Davis
Office of Mayor Liccardo
(408) 535-4857
rachel.davis@sanjoseca.gov

Barbara Osborne
Office of Supervisor Kuehl
(323) 683-1160
Bosborn@bos.lacounty.gov

下载新闻稿

Fine Print Electric Utility Fee Gouges Californians In Tough Economic Times

San José Mayor Sam Liccardo and Los Angeles County Supervisor Sheila Kuehl today called on the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) to increase transparency and accountability for California’s “Big Three” investor-owned utilities as the companies prepare to levy hefty fees on California consumers via a confidential and murky process.

In an editorial published today in the San Francisco Chronicle, Mayor Liccardo and Supervisor Kuehl, who represent more than 3 million Californians, decried Pacific Gas & Electric, San Diego Gas and Electric, and Southern California Edison for huge increases to the “exit fee” levied on consumers who switch to alternate energy providers such as Community Choice Aggregators to account for expensive electricity supply contracts that utilities signed on their behalf many years ago.

Known as the Power Charge Indifference Adjustment or PCIA, the “exit fee” has risen more than 600 percent since 2013 in the PG&E service area and, shockingly, is set to rise again this fall, in the middle of a pandemic, which doubtlessly will inflict greater economic hardship on already struggling residents. The fee has nearly doubled since the CPUC changed its PCIA rules in 2018.

“In a moment when millions of Californians already suffer the most severe financial hardships of their lifetimes, the California Public Utilities Commission must reverse its historic capitulation to the financial interests of investor-owned utilities by protecting millions of ratepayers from excessive and anti-competitive exit fees,” said Mayor Liccardo. “We cannot allow utilities to dismiss this as a mere regulatory complexity, particularly since skyrocketing exit fees have already shifted hundreds of millions of dollars to PG&E from the pockets of overburdened Bay Area residents.”

“My response to this so-called Power Charge Indifference Adjustment is anything but indifferent! The Public Utility Commission’s current exit-fee process promotes rate volatility, and our Los Angeles and Ventura County Clean Power Alliance is likely to see hefty increases yet again,” said Supervisor Kuehl. “The PUC should reverse its 2018 decision to focus on transparency and cost reduction measures that public working groups have outlined. California needs greener energy sources and to make the days of opaque, complicated pricing for energy a relic of the past.”

If the past month – with heat waves, rolling blackouts, rare thunderstorms, and subsequent firestorms that have displaced tens of thousands across California – has shown us anything, it is that the existential threat of climate change is already upon us. It is time for our state to embrace wholeheartedly the clean energy future that CCAs are implementing.

CCAs provide reliable, clean energy to their customers and are accountable in ways the investor-owned utilities are not. CCAs are under the oversight of boards of directors made up by local elected officials and members of the public that provide transparency and accountability. They secure better deals for their ratepayers by prudently managing their energy portfolio, keeping operating costs low by not having shareholders, and invest heavily in the communities they serve.

Liccardo and Kuehl outlined three specific solutions for the CPUC to implement to pull back the curtain on how exit fees are levied:

  • Reverse CPUC rule changes made in 2018 that resulted in accelerated customer rate hikes and volatility. The lack of accountability in the process reduces any incentive for the Big Three utilities to reduce their costs or retire inefficient and dirty power generators, because the utilities can pass the costs on through increased “exit fees.”
  • Adopt transparency measures around rate setting and fees by the CPUC and the State Legislature. Assemblymember Ash Kalra’s AB2689 would take major steps toward giving consumers and local energy providers more information about exactly what their customers are paying for.
  • Adopt the public working group’s recommendations that require utilities to optimize their energy supply portfolios. This would reduce energy costs for all consumers and support market-based incentives for the Big Three utilities to manage portfolio costs.

“By approving hikes of an obscure “exit fee” charged to customers, state regulators have shifted hundreds of millions of dollars in Big Three utilities’ costs to local residents and businesses. We’re calling on the CPUC to enact real reforms to how the PCIA is calculated because without it, Californians won’t see a reduction in fees,” said Mayor Liccardo and Supervisor Kuehl. “As community leaders, we won’t sit idly by and let Californians be taken advantage of during this critical time or anytime.”

CONTACT

Rachel Davis
Office of Mayor Liccardo
(408) 535-4857
rachel.davis@sanjoseca.gov

Barbara Osborne
Office of Supervisor Kuehl
(323) 683-1160
Bosborn@bos.lacounty.gov

Download press release